Dr. Venturina is 2016 PVMA Most Outstanding Veterinarian in Rural and Extension Services

Dr. Virginia M. Venturina, CVSM dean, was awarded as this year's Most Outstanding Veterinarian in Rural and Extension Services in the recently concluded 83rd Philippine Veterinary Medical Association (PVMA) Scientific Conference and Annual Convention last February 17 to 19, 2016 at SMX Davao Convention Center, Davao City.

The awarding ceremony was held during the opening program and was one of the highlights of the convention. She received a Plaque of Recognition together with other awardees in other fields set by PVMA .
With this year's theme "Strengthening the NVS (National Veterinary Services) Through Partnership and Specialization", around 1,500 veterinarians in the country gathered together and participated in the event.
Meanwhile, eight faculty members of the College of Veterinary Science and Medicine presented their research outputs. Among the faculty members with their respective researches presented were: Dr. Darlene Fe P. Castro (Modulation of Mouse Macrophage Response Using Glucagon-Like Peptide1 Receptor Ligands), Dr. Jaypee A. Abenoja (Field Application of Loop Mediated Isothermal Amplification (LAMP) Assay for Trypanosoma evansi Among Buffaloes (Bubalus bubalis) in Science City of Muñoz, Nueva Ecija), Dr. Gemerlyn G. Garcia (Molecular Detection of Tetracycline-Resistance Genes in Respiratory Bacterial Isolates of Small and Large Ruminants), Dr. Paul A. Cardenio (Methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus (MRSA) in the Nasal Vestibule of a Dog Admitted in a Veterinary Clinic), Dr. Errol Jay Y. Balagan (Fertilizing Potential of Epididymal Sperm of Goat (Capra hircus)), Dr. Virginia M. Venturina (Udder Health Management and Diagnostic Protocols for Intramammary Infections in Commercial Dairy Goat Farms) and Dr. Clarissa Yvonne J. Domingo (Risk Factors Associated with Animal and Human Cryptosporidiosis). --EYBalagan


 Dr. Virginia M. Venturina (middle) together with PVMA Officer Dr. Roselle Cudal (left most), PVMA 2016 President Dr. Menandro Quizon (second from left), UP Diliman Chancellor Dr. Michael Tan (second from right) and PVMA 2015 President Dr. Hercules Baldos (right most) during the awarding ceremony.


Dr. Jaypee A. Abenoja on his lecture during the breakout session on Ruminant section.


 Dr. Virginia Venturina together with other faculty members (Dr. Clarissa Yvonne Domingo, second from left, Dr. Noraine Medina, third from left, and Dr. Virgilio Virenes, rightmost) after the awarding program.