CLSU wins in two national quizzes and 1st runner up in 3 more

Students of the College of Veterinary Science and Medicine brought laurels to the university again by winning two national quiz contests and taking three first runner-up awards in three other contests held during the 10th National Congress of Veterinary Medicine Student (NCVMS) on February 11 – 15, 2014 at the College of Veterinary Medicine - University of the Philippines (CVM- UPLB).

CLSU-CVSM won champion in the 21st National PARAmihan ng ALAM, an interveterinary parasitology quiz contest. The winning team was composed of Alvin John Oliveros (DVM5), Marvin Bryan Salinas (DVM5) and Aldrei Siblag (DVM5).

CLSU-CVSM also bagged the championship award in the 1st National Z-Quiz. The team was composed of Jaypee Abenoja (DVM6), Alvin John Oliveros (DVM5) and Aldrei Siblag (DVM5).

In three other national quiz contests, namely, 24th National Veterinary Quiz Contest, 1st National Mikrobyong Mikrobyo Quiz Contest (MMQC) and 19th National Round-Up, CLSU-CVSM finished on the second spot. The CLSU-CVSM teams were composed of Jaypee Abenoja (DVM6), Alvin John Oliveros (DVM5), Marvin Bryan Salinas (DVM5) and Mann Cyron Sarmiento (DVM6).

The quiz contests were held as part of the 10th NCVMS held in UPLB, which was participated in by 20 veterinary colleges in the Philippines. Winning teams received plaques and cash prizes. Meanwhile, veterinary student leaders from the different colleges attended the conference. Krizzia Kate Vicmudo, president of the Veterinary Student Council headed the CLSU-CVSM delegates. CLSU-CVSM faculty members, Dr. Errol Jay Y. Balagan, Dr. Jonathan V. Lazaro and Dr. Rodolfo Medrano, Jr. served as coaches of the CLSU teams in the quiz contests. --Fely V. Manaois II, CVSM



CLSU team, composed of Mann Cyron Sarmiento (DVM6) (2nd from left), Jaypee Abenoja

(DVM6) (third from left) and Marvin Bryan Salinas (DVM5) (third from right), places 1st runner

up in National Veterinary Round-up sponsored by Rodeo Club-UPLB. Dr. Errol Jay Y. Balagan

(rightmost), who served as the team coach, receives the plaque. 



CVSM  students  who won in five quiz  contests in  the  10th  NCVMS  were  presented during

the  CLSU  flag  raising  ceremonies. With them are their coach, Dr. Errol Balagan (leftmost),

CVSM  dean,  Dr. Romeo S. Gundran  (fourth from left)  and  CLSU  Vice  Presidents,

Dr. Raul D. Divina (VP for Administration), Dr. Teotimo M. Aganon (VP for Research) and

Dr. Eduardo G. Marzan, Jr (VP for Business Affairs).





AdvertisementAY201819Resched s